The Scientific Council

The inaugural meeting of the FEPS Scientific Council took place on 19th May 2010 in Brussels.

The objectives of the FEPS Scientific Council are detailed in Article 17.4 of the statutes of FEPS, which state that “(t)he Scientific Council is responsible for the scientific work of the FEPS. It debates the programmes, carries out research and answers all scientific questions put by the General Assembly or the Bureau.”

This article was completed with an agreement between the member organisations of FEPS reached during the General Assembly of 18th November 2009, where they decided that “(t)he Scientific Council of FEPS will play a crucial role in preparing the way to the political reflection of the Foundation and its members in a few crucial domains: a) current and future trends and movements of the world: what is happening? b) current and future developments within the progressive movement: what is happening to us? c) the next/other progressive model for development: what is it made of? d) Europe.”

Working methods

The FEPS Scientific Council acts first and foremost as an advisory board to the Foundation, both on the intellectual/scientific and strategic levels. As such, it should be able to give direction and advice on the research work of the Foundation, therefore preparing and determining the main guidelines of the foundation’s research work.

Once gathered together and put at the service of the Foundation, the outstanding and diverse backgrounds and experiences of the members of the Council shall seek to give added value to the work of FEPS, in both academic and political terms, within a progressive perspective and from a medium and long-term time frame.

The FEPS Scientific Council shall meet formally 2-3 times a year in order to discuss the recent developments in the world and their effect on the research orientation of FEPS. The outcome of these discussions shall be summarised in a working document that will be used as a guidelines when drafting the future activities of FEPS.

In addition to these formal meetings and documents, members of the Scientific Council may gather informally as many times as deemed necessary – according, naturally, to the availability of the members - and may in particular seize the opportunity of events organised by the Foundation to organise sideline meetings.

Chair of the Scientific Council:


Vice President of FEPS and Professor at Université Libre de Bruxelles

Members of the FEPS Scientific Council:

Attila AGH Professor, Corvinus University of Budapest Hungary
Lars ANDERSEN Managing Director, ECLM Denmark
Elie BARNAVI Historian and Diplomat, Former Scientific Director of the Musée de l'Europe and Former Israeli ambassador to France Israel
Rémi BAZILLIER Assistant Professor, University of Orléans and Research Affiliate, Laboratoire d’Economie d’Orléans France
Lubos BLAHA Political Philosopher, Member of the Sloval Parliament Slovakia
Tamas BOROS Director, Policy Solutions Hungary
Christian DEUBNER Independent consultant and Member of the FEPS Research Group Germany
Claudio DE VINCENTI Representative of the Fondazione Italianieuropei and Professor of economics at the University of Rome “Sapienza" Italy
Patrick DIAMOND Visiting Fellow in the Department of Politics, University of Oxford and Senior Research Fellow, Policy Network United Kingdom
André GERRITS Chairman, Alfred Mozer Foundation Netherlands
Günter GLOSER Representative of FES and MP Germany
Nicole GNESOTTO Representative of Europartenaires and Holder of the chair «Union européenne : Institutions et politiques » at the «Conservatoire National des Arts et métiers (CNAM)» France
Stephany GRIFFITH-JONES Executive Director, Initiative for Policy Dialogue United Kingdom
Alfred GUSENBAUER Chair, Next Left research programme and Former Austrian Chancellor Austria
István HILLER Former Minister for Education and Culture Hungary
Gustav HORN Economist, Director of Institute for Macroeconomic Research (IMK) Germany
András INOTAI Researcher, Institute of World Economics and Member of the FEPS Research Group Hungary
Grzegorz KOŁODKO Director of the think-tank TIGER, Transformation, Integration and Globalization Economic Research, at the Kozminski University Poland
Stavros LAMBRINIDIS EU Special Representative for Human Rights Greece
Eneko LANDABURU Head of Delegation, Delegation of the European Union to Morocco EU
Roger LIDDLE Chair, Policy Network United Kingdom
Pia LOCATELLI Member of the Italian Parliament, Honorary President of the Socialist International Women Italy
Diego LOPEZ GARRIDO Former Secretary of State for the European Union in the Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation Spain
Mikko MAJANDER Director, Kalevi Sorsa Foundation Finland
Michail MIRCHEV Representative of the Institute for Social Integration and Professor of Economic Sociology, University of National and World Economy Bulgaria
Pierre MIREL Director, DG Enlargement, European Commission EU
Petr PAVLIK Director of Institute of Masters Studies and Deputy Chair of the Department of Gender Studies of the Faculty of Humanities, Charles University, Prague Czech Republic
Tamar PITCH Professor of Legal Philosophy and Sociology of Law, University of Perugia Italy
Julian PRIESTLEY Former Secretary of the European Parliament UK
Avi PRIMOR President Istrael Council on Foreign Relations Israel
Stefano RIZZO Member of the Steering Committe, Centro per la Riforma dello Stato Italy
Maria Joao RODRIGUES Policy Advisor in the EU institutions, Professor in Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB) Portugal
Vivien SCHMIDT Jean Monnet Chair of European Integration and Professor of INternational Relations, Boston University USA
Alex Trigona SCREBERRAS Lecturer at the University of Malta and Former Foreign Minister Malta
Christophe SENTE Political Scientist, Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) Belgium
Manwel SINAGRA Representative of Foundazzjoni IDEAT and Deputy Dean, Faculty of Science, University of Malta Malta
Bernard SOULAGE Vice-President of the Rhônes-Alpes Regional Council, Member of the Committee of the Regions, former MEP France
Gerhard STAHL Secretary General, Committee of the Regions EU
Dimitris TSAROUHAS Jean Monnet Chair in European Politics, Assistant Professor, Department of International Relations, Blikent University Greece
Giuseppe VACCA President, Fondazione Instituto Gramsci Italy
Josef WEIDENHOLZER President, Solidar EU
Werner WOBBE Researcher, DG Research and Innovation EU